Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

Are you uncommon? August 25, 2009

Filed under: Uncommon Woman - Online Study — Unraveled @ 3:04 pm
Tags:

Welcome to our “Uncommon Woman” study.  As we move through this study, I’ll be referencing the book quite a bit.  I’d encourage you to pick up a copy and use it as we spend time together.  You should be able to pick up a copy at most bookstores.  Here’s some quick stats on it if you’re looking:  Published by Moody, ISBN 9780802452795.

Are you uncommon or are you exactly what everyone else expects? Me…I’m probably what most people expect.  I’m far too inclined to hold a grudge…insert what I think is happening in a situation without ever really asking the other person if I’m even close on the details.  I should have gone into Law because I’m very good at being the judge and the jury.

People asked me why I picked this study…well truth be known…I read the first chapter and was so convicted by the first few pages that I closed the book and not only did I put it down, I hid it.  Yep…that’s the adult thing to do.  I’m a big reader and I always have a stack of books by my side of the bed.  So being the mature adult, I stuck this particular book at the bottom of the stack and then made sure that there were several bigger books stacked on top of it so there’s be no chance I’d get a glimpse of the cover.  Whew…it feels good to come clean:)  I’d never have to look at it again.  I have successfully hidden my agenda.  No one would ever need to know…most of all God.  He’d never be able to figure it out:)  I’m so clever!  Afterall, it’s only a $13.99 mistake buying the book.  I could live with that.

But, as is usually the case, the places where I can do the most good are those very places where I have the biggest void.  More times than I’d like to admit I’d see that big ol’ stack of books and think “dang”  (I didn’t really say that word, mine was a little more colorful).  Ignore it…walk away….I did this for a few months.  Aughhhhh….

But, God is very good at putting me right.  I knew what I was supposed to do.  I just didn’t want to.  We’re so much like the kids we’re trying to raise.  So, I sucked it up…picked up the book again and continued to chapter 2…which wasn’t any easier than chapter 1 but now I’m committed.  There’s something powerful that happens when you live your life in real time.  Can you say “unraveled?”  Here we go again.  I’ll be tackling one chapter a week beginning September 23.  I hope you’ll join us and invite your friends along.

If you’d like to join this study in real time…I’m teaching it at HopePark Wednesday Mornings & Thursday Nights.  If you’re a Nashville local, the door is always open.  We’re at 8001 Hwy. 70 South, just off I-40.  Online at http://hopepark.com and on twitter @hopepark.

Me…well you can find me on twitter @jodytodd.

Jody

 

One Response to “Are you uncommon?”

  1. T Says:

    I ordered my book tonight..so I am in..of course after i take my board exam at the end of the month…yikes!


Leave a Reply

