Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

Chapter 1 – Humbly Accepts Acceptance – Part 2 September 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncommon Woman - Online Study — Unraveled @ 7:45 am
Tags:

So, what does it really mean to “accept acceptance.”  I’m really good at accepting what others think of me.  Is that what she means…If so…wahoo!!!  I’m an A+++ student!  As Napoleon Dynamite says…”YESSSS!”

I have an uncanny ability to take on the negative of what others think of me.  I not only let them in to my heart, I hold them there, I nurture those negative thoughts until they are all I think of, then I rub them between my fingers so I get a good feel for them.  Then I pull them closer so I can get a really good look up close.  I can almost taste them…smell them….you’re feeling it too aren’t you?

This I know about myself, and it takes a lot of work to pull myself away from this type of co-dependent behavior.

Any one else out there who relates?

But something tells me that’s not the “Who” she’s referring to.  If it sounds like a duck and looks like a duck, it’s probably a duck.  It sounds like Jesus, looks like Jesus, it’s probably Jesus.  So why is it harder to grab on to Jesus’ acceptance?

What would my life look like if I applied the same basic thoughts about acceptance only in reverse.  God loves me, he thinks I’m the bomb!  I’m the best thing yet…that’s all I think about is how great I am in His eyes.  Let’s wallow in that pool for a while and see what happens.  Let’s rub that between our fingers and look at it up close and take a taste and see how good it is.  I guarantee, you life will look a lot different on the back end.

How do you see your identity in Christ?

On page 23 we get a great view of what it means to “accept acceptance.”

  1. Having the courage to face your failures with out diminishing your value.
  2. Refusing to let others define you, because God already has.
  3. Cherishing the fact that you’ve been bought with a price.
  4. Embracing the call to become more and more like Christ every day.

“We understand who we are by knowing whose we are.”  What a great way to say it!  “As the gap increases between what we know God thinks of us, the more liberated we become of others opinions.”

Here are some practical questions I’ll walk through with my class.   (As always…when you join me live you get the goofy stories from my everyday life.)

Insecurity is a mighty force to be reckoned with.  Read 1 Corinthians 7:23.

  • Describe a time when you were tripped up by someone’s perception of you.
  • What was the lie that you believed?

Most of us have “solid ground” areas where we walk with a measure of holy confidence, and then there are those “sinking sand” areas that make it hard for us to remember who we are.

  • What are the defining difference between your “solid ground” and your “sinking sand” areas?

You rely on a chair to hold you when you sit down.  Read 1 John 4:16.

  • What are some things you can do that will allow you to  more freely rely on His love.

One of the things I love about this book is the prayers Susie has for us at the end of each chapter.  In my class we’ll end each session by praying this prayer and making it personal.

If we’re not changing and becoming more like Christ…really what are we doing?  No one said it would be easy!

“Precious Lord,  You are all that I need.  Somehow I will learn to walk in this truth.  Take everything about me and make me new again!  Release me from the snare of others’ opinions that I may serve You alone.  Fill me up with a greater sense of my identity in You!  Give me the courage to take the leap of faith to believe that I am someone You love.  You are a sincere and faithful God, and You deserve my highest affections.  Be my highest aim and my deepest love.  Be my anchor and my sail.  Be my everything today and always….”

Chapter 2 next Wednesday.

If you’d like to join this study in real time…I’m teaching it at HopePark Wednesday Mornings & Thursday Nights. If you’re a Nashville local, the door is always open. We’re at 8001 Hwy. 70 South, just off I-40. Online at http://hopepark.com and on twitter @hopepark.

Me…well you can find me twittering @jodytodd.

Have a great week!

Jody

Questions and assigned quotes from the study by Susie Larson entitled The Uncommon Woman.

 

Leave a Reply

