Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

Chapter 2 – Gets Back Up Again – Part 2 September 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncommon Woman - Online Study — Unraveled @ 7:00 am

Perseverance has been well defined as “courage stretched out.”  while I believe that God does deliver those who love Him from events, he most often call us to go through those painful circumstances and get back up again.

On page 37, Susie writes “No matter how the enemy has tried to knock you down, whether by sickness or betraying friends, by past fears or current financial hardships, God can lift you up again and make something beautiful of your life.  Your fingers might be cramped from dragging your past with you, but loosen your grip and give your baggage once and for all, to the One who knows you and cherishes you.”  What a word picture.

How many of you reading can see yourselves with cramped fingers from dragging your past around?

I certainly can relate.  I don’t travel all that much, but at times I’ve had to lug baggage through airports and conference centers.  It feels so good to set those bags down and give your hands a break for a moment.  But you can’t just leave your baggage there in the middle of everything.  So, you pick it back up again and trudge on just a little further.  It feels so good to release your grip.  Sometimes your hands have been in that position so long that it’s hard to uncurl your fingers.  We can get so accustomed to dragging around out past that we can’t imagine our life any other way.

Go ahead…take a chance and uncurl your fingers from your baggage, and then instead of picking it right back up again…find someone to carry it for you.  Ask Jesus, “What would You do with this mess I call my life?”

What About You?

Here are some practical questions I’ll walk through with my class.   (As always…when you join me live you get the goofy stories from my everyday life.)

1.  The Rock – Read 2 Samuel 22:2-4.

  • How does this passage apply to you?
  • List every descriptive word written about God. (my rock, my fortress…)
  • In your own words, describe each of these words as it relates to God’s attention to us.

2.  Which of these do you most identify with right now?

  • Do you need him as your protector?
  • Do you need Him to hid you away for a while?

3.  Trials – Read 2 Samuel 22:5-6.

  • Describe a time in your life when these words applied to you.

4.  Calling Out – Read 2 Samuel 22:7

  • Write a short prayer telling God what His hearing your call means to you.

5.  The Rescue – Read 2 Samuel 22:8-20

  • There is no one like our God!  Tell Him so.

“Dear Father in Heaven,

I need you every hour.  Strengthen me according to your Word.  Fill me up with a gloriuos anticipation for what You want to do in my life!  Make me spiritually savvy enough to walk around the traps set for me by the enemy.  May I turn my back on fear and embrace faith instead.  When I get knocked down, help me to get back up again.  May the destiny You’ve appointed for me be forever in my view.  I want to be a woman who rises up out of the ashes and does something beautiful with her life.  Do your work in me, Lord.”

Next week – The Uncommon Woman – Chapter 3.

If you’d like to join this study in real time…I’m teaching it at HopePark Wednesday Mornings & Thursday Nights. If you’re a Nashville local, the door is always open. We’re at 8001 Hwy. 70 South, just off I-40. Online at http://hopepark.com and on twitter @hopepark.

Me…well you can find me twittering @jodytodd.

Have a great week!

Jody

Questions and assigned quotes from the study by Susie Larson entitled The Uncommon Woman.

 

Leave a Reply

