Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

What Difference Do It Make? October 26, 2009

Filed under: Book Reviews — Unraveled @ 11:40 am
Tags: ,

There is just something inspiring about hearing a personal story. I was not one of the hundreds of thousands who read the first  book “Same Kind of Different As Me” by Ron Hall.  In fact I wasn’t even sure I’d find the second “What Difference Do It Make?” ISBN 9780849920196, all that interesting.  After all I’d never heard of him, but with so much hoopla about the first I’d jump on the band wagon.  So I gave a quick perusal to the introduction and was met with the standard intro until I got to the final paragraph and it read like this:  “…I learned that sometimes the most difficult difference to make is the one that’s closest to home.”  From Chapter 1 and all throughout the book Ron takes you on a journey of his childhood and throughout his life and shares stories as if I were sitting across from him.  I feel the love when Ron talks about his wife and the disappointment when he talks about his father.  I feel the desperation when Denver talks about his homelessness and his time in prison and the child-like faith he leans on.  There is a vulnerability in the friendship that Ron and Denver share that makes them real.  What an unlikely pair.   Their story is of hope, healing, and the willingness to step out of their comfort zone and let God be in control.  You’ll not only be inspired it will open you eyes to very practical ways you can extend yourself to others in your own back yard.  I think I’ll have to go back and read the first one now.

 

Leave a Reply

