Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

Finding New Inspiration at Cultivate Her May 17, 2010

Filed under: My Best This Week — Unraveled @ 8:38 pm
Tags: , , ,

“Confidence allows us to face life with boldness, openness, and honesty.  It enables us to live without worry and to feel safe.  It enables us to live authentically.”  Joyce Meyer.

Now that’s quite an opening statement.  Inside I know my life will not be without challenges, but it would be so nice to be able to stand in a place without worry.  I have to say…I’m not quite there yet.  Why is it that my confidence wanes?  Why is it there are times when I feel like I could take on the world…and then there are other times where I feel like I want to curl up in a corner?  I’ve been attending Cultivate Her each month since last November, but it hasn’t been until this meeting that I felt that familiar nudge from God that this is one area in my life I really need to begin to give attention.  It was as if He was saying “Jody, I have given you experiences and I’m expecting you to share those.”  Then the other small voice said…”But…who am I?”  I felt like I was in a cartoon with an angel on one shoulder and the little devil on the other.  Then as I began to hear the stories of other women, I realized that I’m not all that different than anyone else. Most of our issues with confidence occur when we focus on ourselves.  My ultimate job is to please God and do what He asks me to do. We all face insecurity from time to time.  It’s what we do with the next breath we take that makes the difference.

There was so much more that we talked about.  For now I’ll share this thought:

“Some friends let us into their lives; but true friends lead us into our own.”

Thank you for continuing to lead me into my own and thank you for another inspiring morning!  Can’t wait until next month.

-Cultivate Her is a leadership group specifically designed for women where every month is something a little different.  Last month our panel discussion was led by Jenni Catron with the voices of Sarah Lai (who reminds me so much of my daughter,) Diana Sumpter (who is quite possibly the funniest and most energetic person I’ve ever met) & Brandi Wilson (who strikes me as someone who lives her life with an open authenticity that is contagious.)

Find out more about Cultivate Her and join us in June.

 

3 Responses to “Finding New Inspiration at Cultivate Her”

  1. Jenni Catron Says:

    So excited to see God at work in your life. Thankful that you are a part of this community!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jenni Catron and bill_todd, Jody Todd. Jody Todd said: How I found a little more confidence at @cultivateher. http://wp.me/pCteI-fU […]

  3. LaShorne Says:

    Thanks for sharing. Reflecting on some friendships in my life, I can totally relate to this quote “Some friends let us into their lives; but true friends lead us into our own.”

    It’s great when women can come together in cooperation to inspire one another versus competition to defeat another…


Leave a Reply

