Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

Jesus Manifesto – A Great Read July 16, 2010

Filed under: Book Reviews — Unraveled @ 10:58 am
Tags: , , ,

What a wonderfully refreshing look at what is one of the most written about topics in Christian circles.  The Jesus Manifesto, ISBN 9780849946011, provided a straight forward approach to so many questions about who Jesus is and how He works in the lives of people.  Leonard Sweet & Frank Viola do a wonderful job of keeping the reader engaged.  So many times you’ll read books on Christianity that are just one person’s view.  “The Jesus Manifesto” was different.  All throughout the book you’ll find Sweet and Viola using hymns, poetry, bible stories and quotes from historic theologians, of whom I would have never otherwise engaged, to give bring their points to life.  For instance…Chapter 1 closes with an Eighteenth-century Christmas carol that beautifully illustrates the message of the entire chapter.  When else would I have been exposed to that piece of poetry?  It is simply amazing.  You’ll find those tidbits scattered throughout the book in places where you least expect and they add so much to the message.  There were many times as I was reading that I said aloud…”I want to remember that…and that…and I want to be able to share that…and I want to remember to pray this every morning…” and on and on.  My last piece of advice…take your time.  You’ll be sorely tempted to read too quickly.  Enjoy as I have.

 

2 Responses to “Jesus Manifesto – A Great Read”

  1. […] the above quoted excerpt in “The Jesus Manifesto” by Leonard Sweet & Frank Voila.  You’ll find my review of this book here.   Leave a […]

  2. Sometimes it’s really that simple, isn’t it? I feel a little stupid for not thinking of this by myself.


Leave a Reply

