Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

What’s The Rush? July 28, 2010

Filed under: My Best This Week — Unraveled @ 2:32 pm
Tags: , ,

A week of so ago I was folding laundry…I know…my life is so filled with excitement.  Anyway, I was flipping channels and was pulled in to this documentary on Rush “Beyond the Lighted Stage”.  Rush is a Canadian band that emerged in the late 60’s and were one of hard rock’s most highly regarded bands; although typically brushed aside by critics managed to still attract a huge following through the course of their career.   And yes…I’ve been to a show!  Fabulous!  If you’re a fan you’ll know what I mean.

Throughout the documentary they introduced you to the band member in their early years.  We saw their families, girlfriends, children…  As the show progressed what I noticed was how their lives got a little more hectic.  Their jobs got more demanding.  Their schedules more grueling.  It wasn’t as if they individually fell off the deep end, it was more a gradual process of the things you used to have time for, they just didn’t have time for anymore.  As this segment progressed the one statement that caught me was when Geddy Lee said:

“Music is just one of the things we chose to do with our lives.”

What a simple statement, but I wonder how long it took to arrive at that revelation?  Clearly there was a time in their career where they had to ask the question of balance.  A balance between the personal life they wanted to have and the career that they’ve always dreamed of.  And while we can’t all be rock stars in our own bands…we all have to ask the same question.

“What in my life is out of balance?”

  • Are there things that are meaningful to me that are being outweighed or outranked by other things in my life?
  • What steps can I take that will begin to bring the things I want in my life back in balance?
  • What do I have to give up or adjust to be able to reach this goal?

Somedays the best I can do is arrive at the conclusion that something is out of balance and have no idea what to do.  So wherever you are…it’s a starting point.

The documentary Rush “Beyond the Lighted Stage” was fabulous and if you have a chance to watch it I highly recommend.  It’s a vivid look into the lives of these three men and the road that led to make them the men they are today.

 

One Response to “What’s The Rush?”

  1. Bill Todd Says:

    Uh – huh. and who took you to see Rush? yep. me.


Leave a Reply

