Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

My Ten Thousand Little Moments August 2, 2010

My best this week is from a devotional that I’m reading that was recommended by the best friend anyone could have. The reading starts by talking about the moments where you say something you want to take back.  We all have them.  I think I probably hold the record for times when my mouth gets ahead of my brain.  Yes…I know it’s hard to believe this about me:)  Here it goes anyway…

“It wasn’t a big deal in one way.  Just a small conversation that had turned a bit ugly.  It wasn’t a dramatic life-altering moment.  it was in the privacy of my home with one of my family members.  But maybe that’s the point.  Perhaps it’s very important because that’s where I live every day.  You see, you and I don’t live in a series of big, dramatic moments.  We don’t careen from big decision to big decision.  We all live in an endless series of little moments.  That character of a life is set in ten thousand little moments of everyday life.  it’s the themes of struggles that emerge form those little moments that reveal what’s really going on in our hearts.”

The character of my life is set in the 10,000 little moments.  Those moments look like how I respond to Liam…who is 7…when he asks me for candy for the hundredth time today.  Those moments look like how I think about my husband.  Those moments look like how I respond to my neighbor.  Those moments look like how I talk when hanging out with my co-workers.  There are a lot of little moments in everyday life and they come at you with amazing regularity.  Sometimes the best I have is what I can do for today only.  If you catch me tomorrow you might get something else:)

My question to myself….and now to you:

Today what is one thing I could do or say that would have God looking down and saying “That’s my girl…I knew you had it (ME) in you!”?

Quoted text from the book “Whiter Than Snow” by Paul David Tripp

Tina…great devotional.  Sorry it took me 6 months to get a copy!

 

Leave a Reply

