Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

“Big Red” Review October 6, 2010

Filed under: Book Reviews — Unraveled @ 3:02 pm
Tags:

Seems like I’ve seen this Bible before.  I reminds me of the one that I grew up with in the 70’s, without the King James text and cooler pictures.  Still to claim 3-D pictures wouldn’t you need those nifty blue and red glasses.

There are a few things that the “Big Red,” ISBN 978-1400316663, had going for it though.  It does use the International Children’s Bible translation which is very easy to read.  We sat down the other night and read about Gideon in the Old Testament and found it to be very understandable.  It seemed stay true to the original text, just substituting words that my 7 yr old would know how to say….well…mostly, except for the city names…but you can’t do anything about that.  The actual translation I would recommend it to anyone who needs a simple and easy to read Bible.

There are a few things I found disappointing in the “Big Red.”  I thought it felt a little flimsy for a Children’s Bible.  I would have liked the cover to be a more cloth feel or hard cover.  I give it 2 trips out of the house before it’s bent and torn.  And…the artwork.  I guess it was fine, but with the hype of “contemporary 3-D art” I was expecting a little more than just a few picture pages scattered throughout the otherwise standard Bible look and feel.  And I really want my blue and red glasses!  I was hoping for some contemporary art to illustrate Daniel at the Daniel story.  I would have loved some contemporary art of Esther on the intro page for the book of Esther.  Basically I think there could have been a little more intentionality on placement so that kids were surprised and came back looking for more.  Didn’t really live up to the image in my mind.  Like I said…felt like the Bible I had when I was a kid.

In the end, if you are looking for a reliable translation that is easy for kids to read and understand, then you’re on the right track.  If you’re looking for a Bible to get your kids to say “Wow…that’s amazing!” you might want to keep looking.

I review for BookSneeze

 

Leave a Reply

