Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

So, What Does Jesus Say About How Do You Use Your Time? January 18, 2011

There can be no mistake: we live in the age of living in the instant. We have instant coffee, instant replay, instant messaging – all designed to help us find instant fulfillment. There are countless products designed to speed us up and help us save those precious milliseconds. Because time is such a precious resource, the Bible cautions us to manage it well.

.

The Apostle Paul makes a critical point in his letter to the Ephesians. In Ephesians 4:1-2 He tells them and us to “live a life worthy of your calling, for you have been called by God. Be humble and gentle.  Be patient with each other, making allowance for each other’s faults because of your love…”

.

At the end of the day we all have the same 24 hour to live our lives.  It’s in how we live those hours that the real story is told.  Am I living a life worthy of my calling?  Am I being humble?  Am I being patient?  Often I find the answer to those questions quite the opposite of what I’d like to be true.  It’s in the hectic pace of life that my story breaks down.  So I went on a search for how to prioritize my time so I could be more of what God is calling me to be.  This is a little something that was shared with me that I’m passing on to you about how to view our time and what’s really important.

.


Regarding 100% of your time:

85% of what you do anyone can do…sending an email, attending a meeting, etc…

10% of what you do someone with a little training could do…teach a study, lead a meeting, etc…

5% of what you do only you can do.  Only you can be a companion to your spouse. Only you can be a parent to your kids.  Only you can exercise your body.  Only you can keep yourself spiritually fit and engage in activities that bring you closer to God.  Only you can choose to enjoy life in community with others.  On these points there is no delegating.

.

That means that 95% of the time someone else can do the same things you’re doing! When I saw that I was shocked and it put a lot of things into perspective.  Now when I’m doing a particular activity I ask myself…“Is this part of the 85% that others can do?” “Is this part of the 10% that I need to train someone to do?” When you begin to think through your day with those details in mind it frees up a lot of time to pay attention to the things that are most important…and I might find myself being a little more patient in the process:)

.

How do you use the 5% of your life that influences the other 95%?

 

7 Responses to “So, What Does Jesus Say About How Do You Use Your Time?”

  1. Bill Todd Says:

    Dang. I hate it when you’re right, and I then have to respond. 😉

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by bill_todd, bill_todd. bill_todd said: Did you know that you could be replaced for 95% of your life? http://t.co/yWMKtfP […]

  3. Tony DiChiro Says:

    I thought this was right on Jodi. Great insight. Got it on facebook and like what you had to say.
    Tony

  4. tina Says:

    I would like someone to step in the 95% and let me do a hell of a job with 5%! That’s my favorite part and what I want to do everyday…sigh..good post!

    And…Jody is always right…

  5. Debbie Says:

    Wow. This really made me stop and think. Thanks!

  6. BETH BEUTLER Says:

    Thanks for this! I’m teaching a class on time management and these stats are great to share!


Leave a Reply

