Unraveled

Living Life in Real Time

My Thoughts for You on Thursday of Holy Week April 21, 2011

Filed under: My Best This Week — Unraveled @ 10:44 am
Tags: , , , ,

It’s the second part of Holy week where we see the price to be paid for bringing the reign of God to a world where the self is in the center.

.

The Thursday of the Holy Week is associated with the Last Supper. The day is known as Maundy Thursday, or, Holy Thursday. It is the day before crucifixion. On this day Jesus had his supper, his last course, with his disciples. In the words of Matthew:
.

“…Jesus took bread, and blessed, and broke it , and gave it to the disciples and said, “Take, eat; this is my body.” And he took a cup, and when he had given thanks he gave it to them, saying,” Drink of it, all of you; for this is my blood of covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.”  Matthew 26:26

.

“Do this in remembrance of me…”  Luke 22:19

.

The Holy Communion of Maundy Thursday is tied to the theme of remembering.  As Jesus and his disciples followed the instructions in the Torah to remember God’s acts of deliverance in their history as they shared the Passover meal together, so Jesus calls us to remember the new act of deliverance in our history that unfolds on these last days of the Holy week.

It was also at this last meal together that Jesus models a new kind of servant-leadership.

.

“…Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. 15 I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you…”  John 13:10-17

.

He gave Himself to save, to free, not to dominate.  He models in Maundy Thursday a new kind of authority that ministers to others rather than waiting to be served by them.

.

Our Lord knew what was coming, and still offered Himself freely on our behalf.  Let this Holy Thursday remind you of changed lives and a promise of things to come.  Will I accept what I have been given?  Will I become all that I am meant to be?


 

One Response to “My Thoughts for You on Thursday of Holy Week”

  1. jan owen Says:

    I have enjoyed reading your thoughts this week! I spent the morning in John 13-18 and was so amazed to read these words of Jesus again with the added weight of thinking “he said this the night before he died”. I noticed that he said again and again, “This is my new command. Love one another.”.

    Thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

